Photos: The 2016 Bistro Awards Gala

March 22, 2016 | By

Trezana Beverley, star of “Mabel Madness,” part of the Bistro Award-wining series at Urban Stages, “Winter Rhythms.”

Musical director of the Bistros Band, Daryl Kojak

Rex Benincasa, Bistro Band member (drums)

Musical director/arranger/orchestrator Martin Silvestri introducing his wife, songstress Christine Andreas.

Christine Andreas (Ongoing Artistry in Cabaret and Concert Performance)

Jason Graae, the Bistro’s irrepressible host.

Sherry Eaker, producer of the Bistro Awards

Molly Pope (Creative Cabaret Artistry)

Jeff Harnar and KT Sullivan (Outstanding Revue along with musical director Jon Weber and director Sondra Lee)

Matt Baker (Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award)

Robert Windeler, Bistro Awards Committee member

Jon Hendricks (ASCAP/Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award) with Annie Ross (Outstanding Contributions to the World of Jazz) and Yolande Bavan

Dawn Derow (Outstanding Vocalist)

Janis Siegel (Sustained Excellence in Jazz Performing and Recording)

Urban Stages Artistic Director Frances Hill and producer Peter Napolitano (Outstanding Series)

Sharon McNight (Commanding Cabaret Artistry)

Charlie Johnson (Outstanding Entertainer)

Rob Sutton (Outstanding Vocalist)

Jazz great Kurt Elling in his introduction to jazz legend Jon Hendricks

Aaron Morishita (Outstanding Recording)

Gerry Geddes, Bistro Awards Committee member

Ritt Henn, Bistro Band member (bass)

Jon Hendricks, Annie Ross, Yolande Bavan, Kurt Elling, Janis Siegel

Sidney Myer, the Bistro Awards’ beloved announcer

Ann Dawson (Outstanding Vocalist)

Annie Ross (Outstanding Contributions to the World of Jazz)

Kell Barrett and Jarrod Spector (Outstanding Major Engagement)

Mark Dundas Wood, Bistro Awards Committee member

Roy Sander, Bistro Awards Committee member

Jon Hendricks (ASCAP/Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award recipient)

Bistro Awards’ director, Shellen Lubin, with (l. to r.) Matt Baker, Jon Hendricks, and Kurt Elling.

Photos by Maryann Lopinto 

Category: Galleries

About the Author ()

Sherry Eaker has been the producer of the annual Bistro Awards since the awards’ inception in 1985. She is the former editor of "Back Stage" and, during her 30-year run, produced panel discussions and workshop events on an ongoing basis, including the programming for Back Stage’s annual Actorfest. She compiled and edited four editions of the "Back Stage Handbook for Performing Artists," and compiled and edited "The Cabaret Artists Handbook." Sherry is a member of the National Theatre Conference and the American Theatre Critics Association (and produced eight of ATCA’s New York weekend conferences). She is an advisor to the boards of both the Manhattan Association of Cabarets and the Women in the Arts & Media Coalition.

Comments are closed.